A Vest Finally Finished!

The vest in question is for J (he’s 8) and his specifications were very exact – he wanted a vest that fell below the waist, had a hood and a pocket, and it had to be “soft”.  I started it right after I finished Ty’s sweater.

The Swatch.

The Swatch.

For this project, I did make a swatch.  I substituted a thicker yarn than called for.  J picked everything out himself!

Knitting on a car trip.

Knitting on a car trip.

Over the December holidays we went to San Francisco and Monterey so there was plenty of time in the car to knit.  I knit both the front and the back of this vest at the same time.  It was a little tricky when it came to the split in the front, but it seemed to work out well.

First armband.

First armband.

After the front and back were finished, the arm bands were added.  I really like the darker green as a contrast to the variegated.

Uh-Oh...There's a problem!

Uh-Oh…There’s a problem!

I had attached both armbands and knit up the hood before I realized there was a mistake in the front.  If you look closely at the neckline, you can see that the right side of the garment has no neckline curve – it just attaches to the shoulder seam at the placket – while the left side of the garment has been done correctly.  ACK!!  

Prepared for surgery and reconstruction.

Prepared for surgery and reconstruction.

Off came the armband and out came the shoulder seam.  This is where I discovered that the mistake was not quite as bad as I had thought.  I thought I had not knit enough rows to make the neckline curve, but I had just sewed the vest together wrong.  WHEW!!  What could have been a many day fix was now just a couple of hours.  

Finally!!

Finally!!

The vest in all it’s glory!  We went to the beach the very next day after this vest was finished and J wanted to wear it.  He hasn’t taken it off yet!

Thrilled!

Thrilled!

That pocket is his most favorite thing about the vest.  The hood runs a really close second.  It makes me so happy to see my kids wearing the things I made them!

 

One thought on “A Vest Finally Finished!

  1. I agree with, J! A hood and pockets are a must. He looks adorable. Great job!

Leave a Reply

