Keppi Hat

Keppi Yarn

Keppi Yarn

This hat started out on a whim. I was at JoAnn Fabric and Crafts looking for a different yarn. The yarn to finish J’s vest to be precise and I saw this Keppi Yarn in a box waiting to be put out. I thought it looked so fun with its different colors and textures that it fairly jumped into my basket. Well…once in the basket, I couldn’t not take it home with me! I started knitting this hat on a family outing to the beach. The kids were all playing in the surf and digging holes in the sand. Everyone was happy and occupied so I sat down for a little “me” time. Boy, such a relaxing way to spend an afternoon!

Love the yarn changes!

Love the yarn changes!

I kept on knitting and knitting, just loving how the yarn kept changing colors. It was so fun everytime I got to the more textured yarn, but I was starting to worry. Even though the band on the ball of yarn said I only needed 1 ball for this hat and I was knitting to gauge, there didn’t seem to be enough yarn left to finish the hat…

Too small.

Too small.

I was right, this hat is way too small for E…

Too small

Too small

And too small for J. Bummer!! I have now ordered more yarn (yes, the store is out of it) and am awaiting it’s arrival.

If you are counting, this is my 4th fail in a row. Everything comes out in the end, but the last 4 projects, I have had to rip out and redo parts of them. Me thinks I should go back to something super simple to get a few more “first knit” successes under my belt again!!

Leave a Reply

