Cooking!

Lately I have felt like cooking – A LOT!  Maybe because it feels like fall and I feel more like hunkering down at home.  Maybe it’s because we have had a lot of late afternoon and evening recitals and concerts to attend which means that using the crockpot or the delay timer on the oven necessary if we want to eat dinner at a respectable hour.  It also could be because of this book:IMG_3420

I found this book at Costco and thought, “WOW!  Make-Ahead dinner ideas – just prepare the night before and put into the oven the next evening”.  That thought made the book jump into my cart!

Indian-Spiced Chicken with Yogurt Sauce.

Indian-Spiced Chicken with Yogurt Sauce.

This is the first recipe I tried.  Everyone in the family LOVED it!!  That is very much an accomplishment with five kids.  A couple of nights later, I tried this recipe:

Slow-Cooker Turkey and Wild Rice Soup.

Slow-Cooker Turkey and Wild Rice Soup.

My husband and I really liked this recipe.

Yummy Soup.

Yummy Soup.

My 16yo daughter also really liked this soup, but the rest of them, not so much.  I have to say, I really like soup – all kinds.  Especially during the colder months.  I love smelling soup cooking over a long period of time, I love the warm kitchen and I love a good bowl of soup with a slice of bread for lunch or dinner.  You will be seeing lots more soup as the months go by!

Leave a Reply

