Spool Knitting

As a kid growing up, I loved to spool knit.  My grandmother gave me a little spool knitter that I used ALL the time.  I had a big Folgers Coffee Can that kept my ball of yarn and my spool knitter and I carried that wherever I went.  Spool knitters are so small and portable that they really CAN go everywhere with you.  I wanted to bring this craft to my students, but store bought spool knitters are kind of expensive so I decided to make my own.

Spool knitter supplies.

Spool knitter supplies.

I gathered a few items – note the toilet paper roll – masking tape, 1-1/2 inch brads and some scissors.

Finished spool knitters.

Finished spool knitters.

Ta Da!!  Spool knitters!!  These are my first ones, but now I have a whole bunch of them – most of them have been handed out to my students.  I also love that these are made in part with recycled materials.  There is something so satisfying about using something that was destined for the recycling bin and repurpose it into something useful.  I also think this is a good way to show kids that you don’t always need to buy new – use your imagination and create something from almost nothing!

Spool knitter in use.

Spool knitter in use.

They LOVED them!!

More spool knitting.

More spool knitting.

All of my students are now using their spool knitters.

Spool knitted bracelet.

Spool knitted bracelet.

The most common thing to make are bracelets, but there have been headbands and necklaces as well.  Sometimes they embellish these items with buttons and other cute things!

One thought on “Spool Knitting

  1. […] Supplies and instructions over at Connie’s Creations. […]

Leave a Reply

