Rosettes

I bought a new toy!!

A rosette iron!

A rosette iron!

Growing up, my grandmother lived with us.  She was always there when I got home from school with some sort of treat and either milk or cookies.  She always had time to sit down with me for a few minutes each day.  I truly treasured those moments.  She also made us fancy breakfasts on Saturday mornings.  One of the things she used to make were rosettes – I have such great memories of these.  I was out shopping the other day and saw this at the store – somehow it jumped right into my basket!

The batter.

The batter.

My first ones.

My first ones.

I had to give it a try one Saturday morning.  These are my very own first rosettes with my very own rosette iron!  They are not perfect like my grandmother’s were, but they were ok.

New rosettes.

New rosettes.

Here are the finished rosettes!  I am ridiculously proud of these misshaped pieces of cooked dough!

Extra batter.

Extra batter.

I had a little bit of batter left over after all the rosettes were done so I just cooked them up.

Ready to eat.

Ready to eat.

Then they were dusted with powdered sugar and promptly eaten!  All of us LOVED them.  I can’t wait to make them again – hopefully they will come out a little better :o)

YUM!

YUM!

Leave a Reply

