Crochet Shoulder Bag

I have several small bags that I simply love.  They all have the same drawback – they are not big enough for my new phone.  My husband convinced me that I NEEDED the iPhone 6 (the screen on my old phone was cracked and the phone had stopped ringing).  So after much cajoling I caved and bought one.  I actually really like it – I can read everything I want on it (my old eyes were having trouble with the smaller screen).  The only drawback was that it no longer fit into my bags.  I don’t like to carry big ones, I like the small over the shoulder ones.  What to do…?  Hmm… Make my own!

Start of a crochet shoulder purse.

Start of a crochet shoulder purse.

I picked some fun, colorful yarn and started right away!  I took some measurements of my phone and got started.  Each row is single crochet and I really like the tight fabric this stitch creates.  I don’t remember how many I chained to begin with.

Crocheting done.

Crocheting done.

I crocheted until the piece was long enough to be folded in half and still hold my phone (and my checkbook).  Then I measured some cute, cotton fabric for a lining.

Lining being added.

Lining being added.

The lining edges are turned under and hand sewn in place.

Zipper closure.

Zipper closure.

All my bags need a zipper – I just feel safer that way.

Lining with pockets on both sides.

Lining with pockets on both sides.

Before I put the whole thing together, I added some little pockets for credit cards and cash.  They work perfectly I might add!

Isn't it cute?!

Isn’t it cute?!

This model is much cuter than me!  But you can see that it is the perfect length and it holds everything I need on a daily basis.

So useful!

So useful!

I have used it everyday since it was completed and I anticipate many years of use!  LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!

One thought on “Crochet Shoulder Bag

  1. Can I order one? Looks so cute!

Leave a Reply

