Chicken Pot Pie with Crumble Topping

Well…I gave this a good try…

Chick Pot Pie from The Make Ahead Cook Book.

Chick Pot Pie from The Make Ahead Cook Book.

Image from the book.

Image from the book.

Awww!

Awww!

Aren’t these guys cute?!  These are from the last batch that we picked out of the garden.

These are the last of my home grown carrots.

These are the last of my home grown carrots.

I cut up all of the ones in the refrigerator for this recipe.  I still have more in the garden that are almost ready.  I need to plant more carrots as the kids love them fresh, and they take so long to grow.

How mine turned out.

How mine turned out.

It doesn’t quite look like the picture in the book, but it looks pretty good, right?

Looks yummy, right?

Looks yummy, right?

Lovely night to eat dinner by the fire.

Lovely night to eat dinner by the fire.

We have a fire pit outside on our patio and this night was particularly nice so we decided to have dinner out there.  We loaded our plates at the kitchen table and went outside to enjoy ourselves.

He agreed to try it!

He agreed to try it!

All of the kids tried this dish and you can see how they felt in the following photos :o)

Ooops!

Ooops!

I really didn't like it, but I don't want to hurt your feelings.

I really didn’t like it, but I don’t want to hurt your feelings.

Hmmm...this one's not worried about my feelings.

Hmmm…this one’s not worried about my feelings.

It tasted so bad it gave her the shivers.

It tasted so bad it gave her the shivers.

The results are in and this recipe got a unanimous thumbs down – even from my husband and I.  Well… you win some and you lose some!  Back to the drawing board.

Leave a Reply

