Weaving Fail and Save

While in Redding my daughter and I visited a local yarn store and saw a beautiful woven scarf.

The beautiful scarf.

The beautiful scarf.

I fell in love with it and asked the woman working at the store what yarn was used and what dent reed was on the loom.

Another one on the loom.

Another one on the loom.

Here is another one of the scarves on the loom.  Isn’t it so pretty?

All warped up and ready to go.  So excited!

All warped up and ready to go. So excited!

As soon as I got home, I warped up my loom.

YUCK!!  This is how the weaving turned out!

YUCK!! This is how the weaving turned out!

This really looks terrible!  After posting to a weaving facebook group that I am a member of, someone pointed out that my warp is much more spaced out that the store sample.  ARGGH!!

Selvage ugly!  So frustrated!

Selvage ugly! So frustrated!

Even when I was a new weaver, my selvages never looked like this!  This is really the wrong yarn for my warp and my reed.

Weaving with a different yarn.

Weaving with a different yarn.

I went to “the stash” and pulled out some nice purple yarn that went nicely with some of the colors in the warp.

Love the subtle striping that is showing up.

Love the subtle striping that is showing up.

I am happy with the resulting cloth, but it is not the delicate piece that I was hoping for.  I still have enough of the warp thread to put on a smaller dent reed and try again – which I might do once this is finished.

Leave a Reply

