Let Them Eat Cake!

My daughter’s Freshman season of volleyball came to a close on Monday and she asked me to bake her favorite cake for a celebratory snack after their last game.

She asked for a chocolate cake with raspberries.

This cake is two layers and I tried to do a little shell around the bottom and the top of the cake for added interest and festivity.

My daughter also asked for a raspberry filling.  So I happily provided that!!  I built up a “wall” of frosting around the top edge of the bottom layer, frosted the top of the bottom layer so the jam wouldn’t make the cake soggy and poured jam onto the cake to the level of the frosting border.  Then added the second layer and finished frosting and decorating the cake.

This is the cake before the addition of the raspberries.  I waited to add them because they can sometimes “weep” and add unwanted moisture.

The side view of this cake.  I just now noticed that you can see a bit of cake through the frosting.  No worries!!  The girls did not notice and this cake was devoured in less than 10 minutes flat!

img_9198

My daughter and her team loved the look and taste of this cake!  It was the perfect end of season snack!

2 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cake!

  1. gosh how i wish i had a slice of that! yummy!

Leave a Reply

