Cable Oops!

I have been working on a cabled sweater for one of my daughters and while it is a challenging knit, I have been really enjoying it.  Until…

img_9393

Cable turning the wrong way.

I took a look at my work and realized that one of the cables was not crossing the way it was supposed to.  ARGH!!  I tried to convince myself that it would be “OK” and no one would notice, but I couldn’t do it.

img_9396

The sweater marked where I had to pull out.

I put a double pointed needle in the place where I had to rip down to.  Just FYI…it was 11 rows down and encompassed 20 stitches.  EEEEK!!  Did I mention I had never done this before?!

img_9397

The “live” stitches before I began ripping.

I made sure that I knew exactly where I was on the cable chart before I began ripping these stitches out.

img_9398

All 11 rows ripped back.

This was really the scariest part.  All that yarn, all those stitches!!  I had very diligently erased my marks on the chart as I ripped each row out.  I also counted the live stitches each row to make sure I still had 20.

img_9399

The “live” stitches picked back up onto a double pointed needle.

I managed to get all the stitches on a needle without twisting them or letting them drop down any farther.  I am using a dpn in the same size as the rest of the knitting.

img_9400

The mess of pulled out yarn.

At first it was difficult to determine which piece of yarn to use for which row, but I soon recognized how to figure that out.  Not too hard – just don’t think about it too much!

img_9401

The half way mark.

The cable is fixed and I am at the half way mark (5 1/2 rows) to getting back to where I was before all the ripping started.

img_9402

Cables back where they should be!

WHEW!!  It is done – it only took 2 hours of intense concentration and everything is as it should be.  I learned so much from this – I always learn more from my mistakes than from anything else.  Hopefully, I won’t have to repeat this again!!

Leave a Reply

