SMEGA

San Mateo Embroiderers Guild.  I discovered this group when myself and the family went to the San Mateo County Fair.  They had a booth there and I spent some time talking with the woman who was representing this group.  She was so nice and kind and convinced me that anyone (including myself), could learn to embroider.  She invited me to the next Guild meeting and then followed up with an email with all the details and I decided to go check it out.  That was such a fun morning!!  Everyone was very friendly and welcoming.  Quite a few of the attendees were starting a SAL called Spring Garden and had all their supplies.  I had brought my stitching kit and some fabric.  I decided to try some of the stitches they were working on and the women near me immediately stepped in to help.  It was truly amazing.  

In order to receive a copy of this pattern, you must first be a member of the guild.  Well…you guessed it…I was so excited about the possibility of being a part of this group that I joined as soon as I could.   Things I have learned already since embarking upon The Spring Garden journey…

Transferring a pattern, attaching fabric to a frame, and working on congress cloth.  I had previously never done any of these things including stitching something with a hoop or frame.  I have always done my cross stitch “in hand”.

Discovering a laying tool and how it is used.  I really enjoy using this tool and I LOVE the way the threads lay on the cloth after being held and arranged with the laying tool.

Using a waste knot. Since I have only worked with cross stitch and Aida cloth, I usually just start with the tail held in back and stitch over it. I find that the waste knot method is very easy and much more efficient.

Learning the Slanted Gobelin and Diamond Pavilion stitches.

My goal is to get a couple of sections of the pattern completed before the next meeting so that I can hopefully catch up and complete it on time.  Their time line is the end of the summer – so 2 more months.  Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

