Bird Bath Fail

I am so discouraged!!  I had worked so hard on this bird bath!!  Just take a look at what has happened…

IMG_1169

Marine Varnish Fail.

I was so sure this was the way to go.  It took forever to apply all those tiles and then there are three coats of Marine Varnish over the top to make it water proof.  I waited 24 hours between each application of Marine Varnish…

IMG_1170

Grout Fail.

As the Marine Varnish peels off, it is taking all the grout with it.  I have no idea what to do now.  AND as you can see in the first photo, the painting on the little pot is also failing!  UGH!!  I am going to bring it in (I left it outside last night)  and put it into timeout until I can work myself up to cleaning it up again and finding another solution to make it waterproof.  *SNIFF* *SNIFF*

2 thoughts on “Bird Bath Fail

  1. There has to be a fix for this, bathroom tile grout or even cement?

  2. I didn’t think about bathroom tile grout – that’s a great idea! Thanks. Right now I am just cleaning it up and getting everything off.

Leave a Reply

