Recycling – Plastic Bags

Working on the Blue Jeans quilt where I am recycling our old jeans, has put me in the mood to do more recycling.  I hang on to “things” such as plastic bags.  I have many bags of bags (hoarding anyone?) with the intention of crocheting them into reusable shopping bags.  About a week ago I started prepping and cutting the strips and started a bag.

IMG_1187

The kids love this bread.

I have gobs of these bread bags, also wheat bread bags, newspaper bags, the old plastic grocery bags etc.  So…I started cutting them into strips!

IMG_1188

These are about 1″ strips.

I use the first knuckle on my thumb as the guide which is about an inch.

IMG_1189

Connected together.

Once the strip are cut, they are connected together.

IMG_1190

Lots connected.

Here are the strips from a couple of bags all attached together.

IMG_1192

Rolled up!

Rolled up into a ball.  Now, though, I don’t bother rolling the strips into balls.  I just attach to the piece I am working on and leave them all next to me and crochet them like that.

IMG_1194

A start.

Here is the start.  I am a bit farther along now.  It will be interesting to see how this bag turns out in the end and if it will be as useful as I am hoping.

2 thoughts on “Recycling – Plastic Bags

  1. Connie this looks so fun! And a great play on words too:) a bag from a bag❤️

Leave a Reply

