December SAL and Slow Stitching Sunday

I am so grateful for this SAL!  On the Gingerbread House #5, this is where I was last update:

img_8047

11/24/2019 SAL Update – Gingerbread House #5

This is where I am now!!

img_8097

Gingerbread House #5.

The stitching is finished!!  I actually finished it over our Thanksgiving break and blogged about it here.  I haven’t decided what it will be yet, but am leaning towards an ornament.  I think I’ll try to have that done for our next update.

Also, I made time to work on my son’s Christmas Stocking.  Here is were I was three weeks ago:img_8083

and a closeup of the area I’m working on:

img_8159

Before

This is where I am now:

img_8242

12/15/19 SAL Update on Ty’s Christmas Stocking.

I’ve been getting up every morning and putting a few stitches in while I drink my coffee and start the day.  It’s been so relaxing.  This is what the stocking looks like now:

img_8241

12/15/19 SAL Update

Slowly, but surely, stitch by stitch, I will finish.

Please take a look at all the other talented stitchers taking part in this SAL:

AvisClaireGunCaroleSueConstanzeChristinaKathyMargaretCindyLindaHeidiJackieSunnyHayleyMeganDeborahMary MargaretReneeJennyCarmelaJocelynSharonDaisyAnne

About the SAL

This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL. If you’d like to finish a project you’ve left unfinished for a while, or start a new one with us, you can join us by sending Avis an email.

I am also linking up with Kathy for Slow Stitch Sunday.

28 thoughts on “December SAL and Slow Stitching Sunday

  1. Excellent progress on this window pane, Connie!

  2. Loving both projects so much for a couple of reasons besides your work on that stocking is gorgeous!!! I have a grandson Tyler who I wish I was making this for and a grand-daughter in law that I did a gingerbread man themed gift giving this year 🙂

  3. You’ve made some great stitching progress! Congrats on a finish and making progress on your stocking!

  4. I do hope you keep up motivation with the stocking so Tyler will be able to enjoy hanging it ip for next Christmas!

  5. Your stitching is beautiful!

  6. The stocking is looking fabulous. I hope you are able to keep up with it and get it done for this time next year. Meanwhile, the gingerbread looks good enough to eat! Merry Christmas!

  7. Great projects! I guess I need to learn cross stitching!

  8. Jocelyn Thurston

    I have to say I’m quite taken with the way you recycled the t shirt material into rag rugs. Good for you!
    Love seasonal stitching in this post…great progress and I especially like that you are enjoying early morning stitching with your coffee.

    • Thank you so much! I really enjoy recycling something that would otherwise be trash into something useful. It’s also a fun walk down memory lane as I make the yarn – I remember most of these t-shirts and some of them came from friends’ kids so there are even more memories.

      I find that stitching in the morning is a great way to wake up. It just sets such a great tone for the day.

  9. Great progress on both projects!

  10. One Happy dance for finishing that Ginger house! Great progress on the stocking!

  11. I find crafting in the morning dangerous; I’ve nearly been late for work so many times because I just want to do one more row, just another round, just a few more stitches!

  12. Great progress, love the little gingerbread house – very cute 🙂

  13. Your gingerbread house is adorable — and well done on the stocking! I love the look on Santa’s face.

  14. Wow, your stitching is just fantastic — and what terrific progress you’ve made, too! I love the stockings. My daughter keeps looking at purchasing some … but then changes her mind. I’m afraid to commit to making (five or six) for her, because it’s SO much work, but I see your beautiful progress and am tempted! 🙂

  15. Amazing progress, Santa looks great!

  16. Wow!! Lots done! Great job 🙂

  17. Your Gingerbread House is darling and the Santa stocking looks absolutely amazing!

Leave a comment