Stocking Progress and a SAL

First, I have joined some very talented people in an interesting SAL.  I have done SALs (Stitch-A-Longs) before – where each person participating stitches the same design over a period of time.  Those a super fun,  This one is different…I get to choose something that I am currently working on and post my progress every three weeks.  Then link up to the other people in the SAL so we can all share our progress with each other and with others.  I am looking forward to this as hopefully it will keep me on track.  I have chosen the Candy Cane Santa Stocking that I started mid-July for my son.  This is my first post for this SAL and I am excited to be joining!IMG_0824

This is where I am right this minute.  This is the header where my son’s name will be stitched.img_0745

This is where I was not too long ago.img_0744

This is the pattern I am stitching.  I am hoping to finish this by the end of the year so my son can use it at Christmas time.

If you get a chance, please take a look at these lovely blogs and check out the progress on some fantastic projects!

Avis,ClaireGunCaroleLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristina,KathyMargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherineMary MargaretTimothyHeidi,

34 thoughts on “Stocking Progress and a SAL

  1. Welcome to the SAL. It’s really motivating, so I’m sure you’ll love it 🙂
    That looks like a very big project you’re doing. I shall enjoy watching it progress.

  2. Hello and welcome! This is a lovely project. Good luck with it!

  3. welcome to the SAL ^^
    that’s a lovely project you’re stitching, and I hope we give the motivation to get it finished my Christmas.
    My daughter began working on xmas stockings a few years ago, with the plan to stitch one for each family member over the years. For the moment she’s only finished one and number two is in progress.

  4. Welcome to the SAL, I find it really helps my motivation on a big piece. I love your Christmas stocking, it’s going to be beautiful 🙂

  5. Welcome to the SAL! That will be a beautiful gift for your son.

  6. Welcome Connie! What an excellent project! I did Christmas stockings for my girls and they are still a highlight when we decorate each Christmas. You’ll enjoy this group, I think!

  7. Welcome Connie. Always pleased to see new members and what they are working on. This will be beautiful when done. Can’t wait to see more progress.

  8. This is going to look amazing! Welcome to the sal 🙂

  9. Welcome aboard! You’ve chosen a lovely project to stitch. Something that’ll be treasured for many years. Great progress already 🙂

  10. Welcome to our group! Great start on the stocking. Looking forward to seeing your progress 🙂

  11. Welcome Connie! What a beautiful project. I have always wanted to stitch a stocking 🙂

  12. What a great gift, and it’ll become a real heirloom over the years. Having Christmas as a deadline does put the pressure on a bit, but if you’re confident you can make it, you go, girl! Welcome to the group, and we’ll enjoy watching your progress.

  13. What a great project. I’ve often thought about doing a stocking, it just seems like such an overwhelming project. Though I’m not sure why, I’ve done bigger projects. I think it is more the time frame. I do wish you luck finishing it for Christmas!!

  14. Welcome!!!!! You are working on a beautiful embroidery!!!!

  15. Welcome to the group! This looks like a fairly involved design; I wish you success in getting it done by Christmas. I’ve found it very helpful to have these check-ins every three weeks, hopefully you will too!

  16. Welcome to the group! Your stocking is going to be beautiful. Looking forward to watching your progress.

  17. Hi Connie, I am sure the group will keep you on track. I haven’t been a member very long but have surprised myself with how much progress I have managed to make, in a comparatively short time, despite having a months holiday out and a couple of sessions where health affected my ability to get much done at all. They are lovely people and I already feel quite a number of them have become good friends so I hope it works for you too.. A beautiful project so will look forward to seeing it develop.

Leave a Reply

