HQAL Update and Slow Stitch Sunday

It is time for the HQAL (Hand Quilt A Long) update for the past three weeks.

I was able to finish this flower with the pieced hexis and I am completely loving how it turned out!img_4744

I wasn’t sure I liked those pieced hexis – I wasn’t sure I liked the fabric selection and it just looked a little too busy for my taste, but now that it’s all put together, I really like it!  The pieced hexis were really fiddly, but I actually liked making them once I got the hang of those little pieces.  I see more in my future!

HQAL details:
This Hand Quilt Along is an opportunity for hand quilters and piecers to share and motivate one another. We post every three weeks, to show our progress and encourage one another.  If you have a hand quilting project and would like to join our group contact Kathy at the link below.  Please take a look at all the other fun HQAL project that are going on!

KathyLoriMargaretKerryEmmaTracyDebSusan,  NanetteSassy , EdithSharonKarrin, and Gretchen

Also linking up to Slow Stitch Sunday at Kathy’s Quilts.

 

I am also linking up to Kate’s 15 minutes a day.  I am hoping that this will keep me held accountable to my goal of stitching everyday for at least that amount.
This week:  7/7 days stitched!!!  Both on my cross stitch project and on my EPP project.  Some knitting was thrown in there as well :o)
And, since this is a scrappy project, I’m linking up with Quilting is More Fun Than Housework, which is absolutely true!

24 thoughts on “HQAL Update and Slow Stitch Sunday

  1. Your hexies are super. I am very fond of hexies.

  2. When you balance the pieced hexies with a calmer print they really do look great. I guess it is all in the balance. A marvelous finished flower!

  3. Did anyone warn you that hand-piecing hexagons is addictive? LOL! I’m on my 4th large project.

  4. Very pretty! I thought at first the tiny hexies were just a print, that is some very tiny piecing! Congrats on the 7/7 days for the week. With the holiday next week, that’s going to be a hard goal for me.

    • I have the inability to sleep in so am up around 5am on most mornings. The first thing I do is get my coffee and sit and stitch — although it’s usually on my cross stitch project.

  5. Your hexie flower looks great. Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

  6. Stitching hexies is my very favourite thing. Your hexie flower is looking fabulous. Isn’t it a most wonderful thing to sneak in some stitching to every day.

  7. That’s a great flower! I like the fabrics you’ve picked.

  8. There sure are a lot of pieces in the pieced hexies! Looks great! The borders are perfect.

  9. I have never worked with hexies before ~ your beautiful flower makes it look so easy. Great color combination. Will you be doing this quilt entirely in this color combo or a variety of color combos? Either way it will be gorgeous! ~ Sharon

  10. It looks fabulous! The orange and navy and white combo is so fresh!

  11. It looks great, I love the tiny hexies in the middle 🙂

Leave a comment