SAL Update and Slow Stitch Sunday

It’s that time!  It has been three weeks since our last update on this project…I seem to be having trouble with wordpress – I can’t seem to go back very far in my images to grab a photo to post. I went back to my last post and copied the photo from there.img_4584

This is where I was last time.   I have been more regular on working on this project and this is where I am now.img_4815

I worked a little on the panel on the right because it used the same color as what I was going to use near Santa.  img_4816

I focused most of my effort on Santa’s beard and it is almost done!  This project uses both the half cross stitch and the whole cross stitch.  I find it interesting that I really enjoy the whole cross stitch more.  It somehow feels finished and I like the look much better.

These are the other talented stitchers who are participating in this SAL.  Please take a look at their beautiful work if you have time:

About the SAL in case you’d like to join us

This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL. If you’d like to finish a project you’ve left unfinished for a while, or start a new one with us, you can join us by contacting Avis fromSewing Beside the Sea.

I’m also linking up with Kathy at Kathy’s Quilts for Slow Stitch Sunday.

I am also linking up to Kate’s 15 minutes a day.  I am hoping that this will keep me held accountable to my goal of stitching everyday for at least that amount.
This week:  7/7 days stitched!!!  Both on my cross stitch project and on my EPP project.  Some knitting was thrown in there as well :o)

18 thoughts on “SAL Update and Slow Stitch Sunday

  1. Santa is really filling in! I love seeing all the colors in this. Well done!

  2. Santa is coming on nicely 🙂

    In case it helps with your photo problem, this is what I do to save time. When I start a new SAL post, I use the ‘copy a post’ option and use the last SAL that I posted. I delete the before photo and tweak any text, but I have the new before photo there plus all the links. It saves time…

    • I didn’t know you could do that! I will have to try that next time and leave in the “before” photo I never put into my posts. Great tip!

  3. Stitching white on white is so tricky. Well done on all the progress 🙂

  4. You made great progress filling in Santa! I have seen this stocking now all over flosstube since we’re nearing Christmas and it’s definitely a beautiful piece! You have some great stitching goals going to help you complete this project 🙂

  5. Great progress on Santa. He looks wonderful.

  6. That is going to be gorgeous when done!

  7. Great progress, it’s looking lovely!

  8. Nice project! Someone is going to love having that stocking. I hope you make good progress on it next week too. I’m looking forward to seeing it again.

  9. That’s a great beard! Lots of progress this time 🙂

  10. There are a fair number of colors in Santa’s beard! You’ve done well. At this rate the stocking will be ready for next Christmas for sure!

  11. I made stockings for my daughter and my twin nieces…it took one year per stocking to get them made. They still use them every Christmas. Your stocking is coming along nicely.

  12. What a beautiful cross stitch. Good luck in getting it done.

  13. well done on progress. Looks like Tyler might have to wait until next xmas but it’ll be Worth the wait!

  14. Santa’s beard is looking fabulous!

  15. It’s a beautiful cross stitch project. Congrats on finding time to stitch each day, it can be a challenge this time of year. Thanks for linking up with the 15 minute challenge this week.

  16. Santa is coming along very nicely! I really love this design, very classic.

Leave a comment